Podcasting their spell over me

This is my first post ever in English. The reason that I chose to write in English this time is that the post is about the movie podcasts I listen to. Most of them are in English so it just felt right to write in English in order for more people to be able to understand what the hell I’m raving about. With that little disclaimer out of the way let’s continue…

If you do an image search for ”podcast” on Google your result page will show six or seven pictures of Filip & Fredrik, at least if you do the search on a computer in Sweden. Filip & Fredrik is a Swedish comedy duo behind a number of entertaining, according to me at least, tv shows. For example, they did a legendary, bordering on scary, interview with Gary Busey in 2004. See a clip of that here.

Although I’m a fan of F&F, the fact is that I’ve never listened to their podcast. However, lately I have become more and more addicted to other podcasts. The subject of these podcasts are of course… FILM! The reason I started listening to these Internet radio transmission, apart from my film interest, is that I bought a smartphone (yes, finally!) a couple of months ago. This made ​​it really convenient and easy to take advantage of the digital sound waves containing talk about the moving picture. It’s just perfect to listen to the during the 40 minutes it takes me to ride my bike to and from work every day.

So, which podcasts do I listen to you might ask yourself? Well, it is all about film of course and below are the ones currently being heard in my Beats Audio by Dr. Dre headphones. In no particular order. I think it’s a nice mix. The title of each podcast links to the shows respective sites.

****

Har du inte sett den? (Haven’t you seen that?)
This is a swedish podcast where three guys discuss movies in a casual and funny way. They are also part of the Swedish film blogging network Filmspanarna (The Film Watchers or The Film Scouts). Markus is the word pooper, Johan is the nerdy one and Erik is the calm and collected one.

Filmspotting
It’s a treat listening to Adam and his co-hosts (there has been three) talk about the latest films. They also do director or theme marathons  a couple of times a year. I’m catching up on old shows and mixing that up with the latest episodes.

Filmspotting: Streaming Video Unit
This is a show hosted by Matt Singer and Alison Willmore focusing on online movies. It’s always nice to hear a female voice together with a male. It makes a good combination. On their latest episode they reviewed one of my favorite films, Persona.

The (title pending) Movie Podcast with Tank and Fogs
I discovered this podcast not so long ago and I think Tank and Fogs are a perfect match. It’s funny, goofy and interesting and the style of the two hosts complement each other perfectly. Fogs has a pretty good singing voice (for example, listen to his epic confession song on forgetting about Watchmen when making a superhero film toplist).

The Matineecast
Torontonian Ryan McNeil talks about movies with his invited guests from all over the world. I recently listened to a very good episode which featured Jessica of The Velvet Café that made me really eager to watch We Need To Talk About Kevin.

The LAMBcast
The official podcast of The Large Association of Movie Blogs (The LAMB) where they talk about all things film, either about a specific movie or other themes. My fellow Filmspanare Joel and Jessica have both appeared and Joel is actually currently in charge of (shepherding) The LAMB.

/Filmcast
Here we get in-depth reviews by Dave, Devindra and Adam (plus guests from time to time) and they usually tear a film into pieces, with opinions flying in the air. It’s always fun especially when Dave says something totally exaggerated and Devindra calmly upset says ”C’mon Dave!”. I just love these guys.

Reel Insight
A little bit different set-up here and always nice to hear female voices. In the second part of the show hosts Jess and Rachel focus on the career of a specific actor. Joel has guested at least once and talked about Amy Adams (and yes, Joel, I’ll watch Enchanted… eventually).

****

There are more filmcasts out there that I’ve just started listening to but I’ll get back to them on a later post. For now, I’m out.

Om Jojjenito
And all that is good is nasty

20 Responses to Podcasting their spell over me

  1. Jessica skriver:

    This is ridiculous. I was working on a post about my favorite podcasts which I had planned to post today, about four hours ago, but I wasn’t able to finish it in time!

    You have some kind of tracking device in my brain!!!

    Nice to see you blogging in English though. Welcome to the dark side. I’ll get back to my podcast favorites soonish. We have a lot of overlapping, though I will include a couple that you don’t have on your list.

    • Jojjenito skriver:

      Haha, that’s too funny. You haven’t noticed the device, that’s good. I planted it behind your right ear on the latest Filmspanarna meet-up when you were vividly discussing the genericness of Total Recall.

      Myself, I’ve been thinking about this post for several weeks and finally I got going a couple of days ago. But it took at least twice the time to write it.

      Looking forward to your list. I bet Kermode is on it.

  2. Markus skriver:

    Word pooper?! My words are like poetry! Every sentence are a combination of carefully selected words that will shock you, make you cry and laugh! Thanks for the mention though!

    My favorite podcast is spill.com, they have the same movie taste and humor as me

    • Jojjenito skriver:

      Exactly, that’s what I meant. You just put in more eloquently. Your words are running like diarrhea, and I like it.😉

      Thanks for the tip on spill.com. Never heard of them.

  3. Sofia skriver:

    So far, I have managed to withstand this particular form of devilry but since I’ve started listening to Markus, Johan and Erik the sweet temptation have reared its ugly head. If it gets any stronger I at least know which posts to visit to get the input I need.

    Great for a first post in English, would be interesting to know whether you noticed any difference in the traffic because of it.

    • Jojjenito skriver:

      It’s addictive so you better watch out. But still it can’t beat the Filmspanarna meet-ups.😉

      Thanks, it turned out ok. Difference in traffic? No, not really, but I think it takes more than just one post. It would maybe be a bit different if it was a post part of some international blogathon or something like that. But if I posted in English for a month, plugging it on Twitter and other movie bloggs I’m sure I would get a sigificant traffic increase.

  4. Being the current LAMB shepherd I of course approve this list a lot more than Jessica’s list. =)

    Since you seem to keep track of my appearances I’d recommend listening to my episodes of Demented Podcast and my Filmyarn episode on Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (probably my best pod episode tied with my Long Kiss Goodnight LAMBcast debut).

    Thanks for the call-outs its really appreciated!

  5. Ryan McNeil skriver:

    Thanks for the kind words sir! A lot of days I swear I’m only talking to the same seven listeners, so everytime I discover someone new is listening in, it really gives me a shot in the arm.

    Get ready for a lot of content over the next two weeks with TIFF just days away!

    • Jojjenito skriver:

      Your welcome. Ah, TIFF. Would be great to attend some day (I’m actually going to Canada in a couple of weeks, but to Montreal). Well, we have Stockholm Film Festival coming up in a couple of months anyway.

  6. I am a film podcast listener/consumer as well and you have some of the most entertaining and best movie podcasts listed, but you forgot/really should listen to one more!

    Movie Geeks United (on iTunes and Blog Talk Radio, as well as on their own homepage. They combine great movie talk with superb interviews. They interview both independent movieworkers and people like James Cameron, David Cronenberg, Francis Ford Coppola and many, many more. They have done more than 600 interviews since they started 2006.

    The regular hosts are Jamey Duvall and Jerry Dennis, who is passioned about film and have a great knowledge. They have done special theme shows – and in-depth series, on Brian De Palma and Stanley Kubrick, for example. (take a closer look on those two theme series). You should really check them out! The best in the business!😉

Kommentera

